Abandonware DOS title

Games part of the Heretic series

The Heretic game series is a first-person shooter fantasy series developed by Raven Software and published by id Software. It consists of two main titles: "Heretic: Shadow of the Serpent Riders" and "Heretic II." The series is set in a dark fantasy world and is known for its atmospheric environments, intense action, and unique gameplay mechanics.

The first game, "Heretic: Shadow of the Serpent Riders", was released in 1994. It utilized the same game engine as id Software's popular first-person shooter, Doom. In Heretic, players take on the role of a hero known as the Serpent Rider, who must battle hordes of demons and other monstrous creatures across various medieval-themed levels. The game featured a wide range of weapons, magical artifacts, and power-ups to aid players in their quest.

What set Heretic apart from other shooters at the time was its fantasy setting, which included spells, mystical artifacts, and a unique arsenal of weapons such as the Elven Wand, Ethereal Crossbow, and Hellstaff. Players could also collect special items and power-ups that granted temporary boosts and abilities.

The second game in the series, Heretic II, was released in 1998. Unlike its predecessor, Heretic II shifted its gameplay style from a first-person shooter to a third-person action-adventure. Players controlled the protagonist Corvus, who was cursed and lost his ability to shape-shift into a dragon. The game took place in a more open-world environment, emphasizing exploration, platforming, and puzzle-solving along with intense combat sequences.

  • heretic-1
    1994DOSprotected shooter
    Developer: Raven Software
    Publisher: id software
  • hexen-5
    1995DOSprotected shooter
    Developer: Raven Software
    Publisher: id software